13.3 C
New York
Sunday, October 2, 2022

Messi receives seventh Ballon d’Or award

French club Paris Saint-Germain PSG and Argentine forward Lionel Messi have won the Ballon d’Or for the seventh time.

He won the Ballon d’Or award of the year 2021 on Monday night. This is the seventh time he has won the Ballon d’Or award given by the popular French magazine France Football. At this year’s awards, Messi won the award behind German club Baron Munich’s police forward Robert Lewandowski.

In addition, Messi has now become the seventh player to win the Ballon d’Or award for the seventh time. However, Messi became the record holder to win the Ballon d’Or for the sixth time in 2019. Ronaldo of Portugal, a little less than him, has won the award five times. Now Messi has two more balloons than Ronaldo.

ballon d'or award
ballon d’or award collection of messi

Messi first won the Ballon d’Or in 2009. After winning the award for the first year, he won the award for four consecutive years. He won the Ballon d’Or alone for four consecutive years in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012. He then won for the fifth time in 2015 and for the sixth time in 2019.

Messi arrived at the venue with his three sons and wife to attend the awards ceremony. He was accompanied by his closest rival, Robert Lewandowski, and his wife. This time, Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal did not attend the award ceremony.

Messi has won two titles this year. Copa del Rey Cup from former club Barcelona and Copa America from Argentina. He won his first major title from Argentina this year. He scored a total of 41 goals and assisted 17 goals this year. Lewandowski, who finished second, has won three titles and the European Golden Boot this year with a total of 64 goals and 12 assists.

Along with Messi this year, German club Baron Munich and Polish forward Robert Lewandowski and English Chelsea and Italian midfielder Jजिrgenho were the main contenders. Messi, 34, beat Lewandowski, 32, of Poland. Messi was the winner and Lewandowski was second, while Chelsea’s Jurgenho was third. English club Manchester United’s Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo was sixth this time.

ballon d'or
ballon d’or award with messi

He was followed by Mohamed Salah, an Egyptian forward from English club Liverpool, in seventh place, and Angolo Cante, a midfielder from Chelsea and France, in fourth place. Fourth place went to Real Madrid and France forward Karim Benzema. PSG and France’s Clean Mbappe finished ninth.

According to France Football, award-winning Messi is only 33 points behind Baron’s Lewandowski. This is the only difference between the four votes. According to the published results, Messi got a total of 613 points. Lewandowski, in second place, scored 580 points, while Jurginho, in third place, scored 460 points.

Karim Benzema in fourth place got 239 points while Kante in fifth place got 186 points.

For the Ballon d’Or award, 170 sports journalists from 170 countries were voted by France Football, the organizer. They have to vote for the first, second, and third three different votes. The final result is declared by converting the total votes into points.

Ronaldo of Portugal, who has won the award five times before, got only 178 points this time. Only Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Donarumma, in tenth place, scored 36 points.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular