12 C
New York
Thursday, January 26, 2023

Launching of the 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress

The 14th Nepali Congress general convention is starting today. The General Convention will be held at 1 pm at Bhrikuti Mandap. All preparations for the inauguration is already completed, according to the party office. The convention will be initiated by Sher Bahadur Deuba, Prime Minister and party president of the Nepali Congress.

Dr Pradip Parajuli, Secretary of the party office, informed that various parties and guests from abroad would address the inauguration ceremony. The main level for the inauguration has been prepared in the courtyard of Bhrikuti Mandap. He said that the party’s general convention delegates and spontaneous participants would be present at the inauguration as participants were not invited from outside the Kathmandu Valley due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Outside the stage, Five large displays are placed to make it easier for participants to watch. A discrete area has been set up near the location for the media to report. There is an extensive sound system to make the stage’s sound heard everywhere.

The party flag and election symbol are decorated with tree flags at the convention venue, and reception gates are set up at various places. Similarly, the banner of the General Convention candidates is all over the Bhrikuti Mandap. There will be 4,700 representatives at this convention. Most of the delegates are already arrived in Kathmandu, according to the party office, and the distribution of bags has been started from the party’s central office, Sanepa, on Thursday.

nepali congress convention
Party President Sher Badhaur Deuba

Arrangements have been made for food and snacks for the delegates to the General Convention in the garden of Bhrikuti Mandap and accommodation in many hotels in the capital. Similarly, a huge stage has been set up in the hall of Bhrikuti Mandap for the closed session, and seven displays have been placed inside the gallery. It is said that Nepal Police has made all the arrangements for safety & security at the General Convention, and Traffic Police has also made arrangements for proper management of vehicles.

Voting will start at 8 am on November 12

The party’s Central Election Committee said that the list of delegates would be published on November 8 at 10 am. Candidate nomination registration will start from 10 am to 5 pm on November 10, scrutiny and protests on candidature nomination registration will be held from 5 pm to 7 pm on November 10, and decision on claims will be decided on November 10 from 7 to 9 pm.

The first list of all candidates will be published from 9 pm to 12 noon on November 10, the time for withdrawal of nomination papers is 11 am on November 10, the final list of chosen candidates will be published on November 10 at 12:15 pm, and voting will be held on November 12 from 8 am, said committee coordinator Gopal Krishna Ghimire.

Voting will be at Bhrikuti Mandap and Rastriya Sabha House. There will be 29 ballot papers in the polling, and ballot papers of different sizes and colours will be arranged according to the number of candidates. Though there was a discussion in the General Convention about using the electronic voting machine, eventually, voting will be done on the ballot paper.

There is an arrangement for the election of one chairperson, two deputy chairpersons, two general secretaries, and eight joint general secretaries from among the office bearers of the NC Central Working Committee. The treasurer will be elected from among the elected central members. Similarly, 35 open major members, nine women, 21 from each of the three states, Dalit nine, Adivasi / Janajati 15, Khas / Aryan 13, Madhesi nine, Tharu four, Muslim three, one from backward areas, one from minority, one from persons with disabilities. A total of 134 office bearers and members will be elected as members. Besides, it is mentioned in the constitution that the central chairperson will nominate 33 candidates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular